• Product Overview
  • Product Description
Available Size:

Top row from left Bill Boyer, Bud Cook, Carl Reifsteck, Chad Fox, Danny Jones, Dave Bodie and Ed Cooper. Second row Ed Henderson, Frank Jurkovich, Gene Stabb, Jerry Swanson, Harley Gray, Henry LeGault and Jim Arnold. Third row Jim Dolph, Jim Peters, Jim Tucker, Jim Turpin, John Grogan, Kem Mills and Larry Hess. Fourth row LeRoy Griswold, Phil Augustine, Ray Hellige, Ron Gould, Ron Peterson, Ron Taylor, Troy Childers, Warren Dew and coach George Taylor. George Taylor's 10th season as Chillicothe High School football coach began with a 19-13 victory over Princeville. It ended with another 19-13 Chillicothe victory, this time over Farmington, completing the 8-0 Grey Ghosts' first undefeated season under the future Greater Peoria Sports Hall of Fame inductee. Between the 19-13 bookends that accounted for 68 percent of their opponents' scoring in the fall of 1954, the Grey Ghosts recorded four shutouts and two wins in which they allowed six points. Chillicothe took a 5-0 record into its Homecoming game in which it trailed Dunlap at the half. Henry "Frenchie" LeGault scored two touchdowns after intermission to help extend a winning streak that included the Grey Ghosts' last four games of the 1953 season. LeGault finished his senior season with 13 touchdowns to lead the Illio Conference champions in scoring. He was selected the Grey Ghosts' most valuable back and was an All-Illio selection as was senior back Bill Boyer. Tackle Harley Gray and guard John Grogan, also members of the Class of 1955, shared most valuable lineman honors. THE 1954 SEASON Chillicothe 19, Princeville 13 Chillicothe 19, Washington 0 Chillicothe 13, Eureka 6 Chillicothe 13, Dunlap 6 Chillicothe 7, Metamora 0 Chillicothe 20, Tremont 0 Chillicothe 6, Morton 0 Chillicothe 19, Farmington 13